Your cart is empty.

coming of age

Showing 1-10 of 15 titles.
Sort by:

Age 16

A Ms. Most Anticipated Feminist Book of 2024

A powerful coming-of-age graphic novel about how mothers and daughters pass down—and rebel against—standards of size, gender, race, beauty, and worth.

Guangdong, ...

Crash Landing

This YA debut is a searing ode to queer identity, growing up in an immigrant community, and carving a place for yourself in the world with the help of your friends.

Jay Wong is spending the last languid ...

Maya Plays the Part

A Children’s Book Book Council Spotlight selection!

A heartwarming middle-grade debut with autism representation and a musical flair.

Maya
lives and breathes musicals. When her chance to finally be a ...

The Queen of Junk Island

From debut author Alexandra Mae Jones comes a compelling, nuanced exploration of bi identity and body image with a ghostly backdrop—perfect for fans of Nina Lacour. 

Still reeling from a recent trauma, ...

The Words in My Hands

“Anyone who is dDeaf . . . will immediately feel a connection and a sense of belonging while reading Asphyxia's book.” —Stacy Abrams, founder of the #WhyISign campaign Winner of the Schneider ...

Yara’s Spring

Coming of age against all odds in the midst of the Arab Spring.

Growing up in Aleppo, Yara’s childhood has long been shadowed by the coming revolution. But when the Arab Spring finally arrives at Yara’s ...

Swift Fox All Along

By Rebecca Thomas
Illustrated by Maya McKibbin
Categories: Children's Fiction

What does it mean to be Mi’kmaq? And if Swift Fox can’t find the answer, will she ever feel like part of her family?

When Swift Fox’s father picks her up to go visit her aunties, uncles, and cousins, ...

Crossing the Farak River

Fourteen-year-old Hasina is forced to flee everything she knows in this gripping account of the crisis in Myanmar.

For Hasina and her younger brother Araf, the constant threat of Sit Tat, the Myanmar Army, ...

Fatty Legs (10th anniversary edition)

The beloved story of an Inuvialuit girl standing up to the injustices of residential school.

Margaret Olemaun Pokiak-Fenton’s powerful story of residential school in the far North has been reissued to ...

The House of One Thousand Eyes

Who can Lena trust to help her find out the truth?

Life in East Germany in the early 1980s is not easy for most people, but for Lena, it’s particularly hard. After the death of her parents in a factory ...