Your cart is empty.
Dirty Dog Boogie

Dirty Dog Boogie

Categories: Children's Nonfiction
Themes: humorous, dogs
Interest Age: 4–7
Grade: p–2
Reading Level:
Common Core Correlations
CCSS.ELA-Literacy Strand-Reading literature:
RL.3.1,4,5,6,7,9,10
RF.3.3,3d,4,4a,4b,4c
W.3.3,3a,3b,3c,3d,4,
L.3.2,2f,3,3a,4,4a,5

Paperback (Picture book) : 9781550375725, 32 pages, February 2002 , 9.24" x 9.40"
Hardcover : 9781550375732, 32 pages, February 2002 , 9.56" x 7.68"

Description

This collection of original poems will knock your socks off, and Lesynski has just the poem for that event: Sock Fluff. Her poetry is an invitation to be witty, expressive and creative, and her words demonstrate just how much fun poetry and everyday life can be.

Topics range from sending out an SOS for delicious sausages, imagining what it would be like to have a brudda named Brad and keeping the mozza-keetos away, to indulging in laaaaaziness.

Lesynski’s infectious fun with sound, rhythm and beat are guaranteed to win over the most reluctant anti-poetry student.  

Awards

  • Joint winner, The Year’s Best List, Resource Links 2002

Reviews

“A nifty book of poetry . . . will have everyone toe-tapping, finger-snapping and grin-grinning. ”

- St. Catharines Standard

“Rhythm that becomes musical when read aloud. A collection that will appeal to fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein. ”

- School Library Journal

“An exuberant collection of child-centered rhymes that dance in your head and bounce off your tongue, that beg to be read, chanted, or sung aloud . . . This book would be terrific in a classroom, allowing teachers to have fun liberating the poet in every child. Highly recommended for both school and home use. ” 

- Canadian Book Review Annual

“This is a ‘clap-your-hands and stamp-your-feet’ kind of book and is aimed at producing lots of giggles. ” 

- Canadian Children’s Literature

“When it comes to rhyming stuff, Lesynski is a major goddess. The only thing more joyous than her rhymes are her charming and well drawn illustrations. ” 

- January Magazine